Curating My Email

Beautiful Fresh Flowers Flora Shop Work Space BusinessLast week I wrote about how excited I was that I finally cleaned out my email. This week I wanted to share with you how I actually use my email inbox as a way to curate creative reading + inspiration for my work as well as my mind. I use my inbox as a tool to further my work, while simultaneously not allowing it to be a source of stress in my life. I’ve finally been awakened to the fact that I can choose for myself what gets emailed to me. All the stuff I don’t want is out. But what do I actually want??

I’m, of course, talking about email newsletters! Which have gotten a bad rap of late. But there are SO MANY cool, creative people out there that actually care that they’re providing value + real inspiration to their email subscribers. So they create + share really awesome content.

I know you’re probably still skeptical, and that’s okay. Just hear me out.

The Story:

I started doing research about cool, creative ideas for newsletters when I was doing marketing for an IT company. In my Googling, I found so many awesome examples of helpful, fun newsletters that I just started subscribing to them. Almost for the sake of spying on what they’re doing. And now that it’s been a couple of years, I really do depend on a core group of them for weekly + monthly inspiration, news, and other interesting information that helps me be a person in this world. As much as I hate clutter in my inbox, these newsletters are the reason I don’t hate email anymore.

So, where to start??

Check out this awesome post by Creative Mornings with examples of creative newsletters they recommend subscribing to. This is the perfect place to get your feet wet with some interesting newsletters about life, culture, art and the rest of the world.

From this list, I am currently subscribed to:

From the Anxious Mind of Jocelyn K. Glei

The Ann Friedman Weekly

Think Clearly

Brain Pickings

My Morning Routine

Austin Kleon

Not on this list, I am also subscribed to Marc Johns: Serious Drawings and Maya Stein’s weekly poems.

While there are a million more I want to try, I’m starting slow and keeping it simple. If I’m not keeping up with reading, what’s the point? And there’s no way I will allow these to also become clutter.

I hope I’ve encouraged you to try one or two of these and make your email inbox a fun place again! I’m also going to be starting an monthly newsletter, starting in June, so let me know if you want to sign up for that.

Send me your email newsletter recommendations as well, I’d love to hear from you!

Tschüss!

Leave a Reply

