Collaborative Giveaway | February 2017

giveawayI’ve gotten slightly obsessed with the idea of collaboration. I’ll probably write a whole blog post on it once I’ve organized my thoughts but bottom line, I think collaborating is the best way to move forward with most anything. We learn better, faster, and have more fun when we’re connecting with other people doing similar things. Even when we connect with people doing completely different things. There’s a special kind of creativity that comes out of combining thought processes, styles, and dreams with other people that just doesn’t happen when we’re on our own.

So I decided I wanted to connect with some of my favorite artists and makers on Instagram and start doing collaborative giveaways. The idea is to gift someone several things from different artists and watch the magic as it all connects to each other. If you’ve read this post about gallery walls, you know that I love watching art talk to each other. Which it does when you put it next to another piece and observe.

img_7566
Ocean in Charleston, SC by Kelsey.
img_7567
Italy landscape by Kelsey.

 

Kelsey Nelson is a friend of mine, who also happens to be a very talented photographer. We decided to do this first giveaway together. She has submitted two photos, one she took in Charleston, SC and one in Italy. Both are beautiful and pair nicely with the lettered print, giclée and floral calendar I’ve contributed for this month. You can check out more of her work here.

img_7568
8×10 Lettered Print

I’ve got artists lined up through July so far and will continue to schedule through 2017. I’m hoping this will be a fun year of making friends and hopefully helping connect people to more awesome art.

img_7569
5×7 Watercolor Giclée
fullsizerender-48
2017 Floral Calendar

It’s not too late to enter yourself! Just go to my Instagram and follow the simple instructions on the giveaway post. The winner will be chosen by 5pm EST on February 28th (tomorrow!!).

If this is interesting to you and you’d like to participate in a giveaway with me, please contact me! I’m doing it solely for Instagram right now, so just find me @rachelloftis and send me a message. Make sure I can see what you’re making on your profile so I know if it will be a good fit for this. If you’re not an artist or maker but you know someone who is, please let them know what I’m doing and have them reach out! I’d love to involve as many people as makes sense for this. And give away lots of free stuff!

img_7565

Thanks for reading!!

Tschüss!

 

Leave a Reply

