My 6 Hour Project | February 11, 2017

img_7525I feel like I cheated. On Saturday, I did a six hour project instead of a 12 hour project so that I didn’t have to get up so early AND so that I wouldn’t miss out on a fun birthday dinner. Those are good reasons right? Well the second one is at least.

I will say that six hours felt significantly shorter and I still managed to crank some finished pieces out. Even some I like. 

As always, I started with a list. This list was filled with things I have been painting recently that I love and want to fill up a curated gallery wall with. The gallery wall is for a client and I’m now trying to decide which pieces to use and which to not use. I’ll probably use her preferences for that. (Update post on this to come later)

Here’s my list:

  • 5×7 weaving
  • 11×14 sky
  • 11×14 galaxy
  • scribble drawings (3 sizes)
  • 8×10 Floral
  • 8×10 + 5×7 highways
  • 8×10 lettering
  • 5×7 minimalist abstract
  • wreath hearts
  • Mary Kate + Ashley (don’t ask)

I painted from 10am-4pm. Perfect timing really, I just started to lose my light for decent photos.

As you will see, I got most of my list painted. And it was all fun. Clearly I’m attempting to put a gallery wall together that focuses on three different sizes: 5×7, 8×10, and 11×14. That’s just to keep the framing simple since I’m a noob at this.

Here’s what I made:

img_7520
11×14 Galaxy
img_7521
5×7 Scribble drawing, 5×7 Lettering, 8×10 Watercolor drawing
img_7522
5×7 Weaving, 5×7 Minimalist Abstract
img_7523
8×10 Lettering, 9×12 Floral
img_7524
11×14 Sky

If you have followed along with my 12 Hour Art Projects and want to try something similar, a six hour project is much more doable. Make a list, set a date and start painting! Let me know if you try this out, I want to hear about it!

Thanks for reading.

Tschüss!

Leave a Reply

