January Art Theme | S K Y

img_7175Starting out this 2017 year, I decided I wanted a monthly project that would not overwhelm me but would give me some direction when I wanted to sit down and make art for myself. A huge part of my process in discovering new styles is to play a lot and it’s hard to come up with specific ideas of what to do all the time. Especially if I want to make at least a few quality pieces every month. I needed to help myself with having regular direction and not rely on spontaneous inspiration all the time.

So I came up with the idea of just having a theme for each month. A theme that’s general enough to not pin me down too much but that’s also specific enough to give me direction at my studio table.

The idea is to choose a theme each month and then make a piece every working day. I’ll have five pieces done every week with the weekends to catch up if I need to. At the end of the month I’ll have around 20 finished with hopefully at least a couple winners.

Halfway through the month now, I have completed ten pieces for January’s theme: S K Y.

Here they are:

img_6955img_6983img_6997img_7012img_7126img_7071img_7099img_7079img_7170

I’ve used mostly my own interests in power lines and birds to find photo references on Pinterest that I wanted to paint.

I’ve got a brainstorm list for other themes for the rest of the year started too. Once I’m done with January, I’ll pick one for February! Here is what I’ve got on my list so far:

  • Photos to abstracts
  • dancers
  • gems + crystals
  • floral
  • creature
  • sky + sea
  • wings
  • body parts
  • woven
  • bone
  • rock
  • germs + bacteria

Is there anything you would add or suggest to me? Want to join in with me? Just add your own art to the hashtag #rla2017themes!

Thanks for reading!

Tschüss.

3 thoughts on “January Art Theme | S K Y

Leave a Reply

