I’m back! Inktober has been fun.

So I accidentally took a month off from blogging. I guess that happens sometimes and I don’t really know why. I have been making lots of art, which you’ve seen if you follow me on Instagram.

The two big things that happened this month are Inktober and our anniversary trip to Chicago/Wisconsin. It’s been a crazy month.

So, if you’re unfamiliar with Inktober, shame on you! No, just kidding. But it is really cool. It is a concept invented by Jake Parker, this crazy talented illustrator. It’s basically just a month-long challenge every October to post a drawing/picture made in ink every day of the October, 31 days total, on Instagram using the hashtags #inktober and #inktober2016. I do a lot of pen drawings anyways so this is a fun time for me to practice drawing things that are challenging or interesting to me.

I did Inktober for the first time last year and that was right at the beginning of my journey of making art every day as my full time thing. So the pictures I drew last year, compared with this year are almost laughable. It’s so encouraging to see the progress I’ve made in only a year with my skill level as well as my range of interest that even though I cringe at some of the stuff I’ve done, it was a stepping stone to get to where I am. On that note, really all the work I do is a stepping stone in my journey. There’s not a final destination. My art is going to keep growing and changing as long as I live because I’m growing and changing. I’m excited to see what happens and even if I hate what I’m making, I’m going to keep doing it. I don’t really have a choice.

Anyways, here is the first half of my Inktober work. I’m a bit behind but will post the second half of the month at the end of October (hopefully).

img_6075img_6076img_6077

Thanks for reading! Hopefully I’ll get caught up on these by the end of the month!

Tschüss!

One thought on “I’m back! Inktober has been fun.

Leave a Reply

