My Miracle Morning Routine

fullsizerender-26Most of my friends already know about my miracle morning routine. Probably because I talk about it all the time. It’s what keeps me sane and energized for a day of creativity as well as inspired to keep coming up with ideas. I’ve tried to talk about my creativity habits on this blog more so no one is deceived into thinking it is magic. If it is magic, it’s definitely magic that is available to everyone. You can read here and here about a few more of my creativity habits.

I would be remiss to not talk about my miracle morning routine as part of my “secret” for staying inspired all the time. It was one of my early discoveries when I first started pursuing my art business at the end of last year, though I didn’t incorporate this miracle morning system in my routine until this past March when I started bullet journaling for the first time.

Here’s a quick synopsis of where the idea originally came from. The Miracle Morning title was not invented by me. This is the original miracle morning routine S.A.V.E.R.S. that came from the book by Hal Elrod The Miracle Morning: The Not-So-Obvious Secret Guaranteed To Transform Your Life… (Before 8AM), which I first read about on Boho Berry’s blog here. The individual parts of the routine are as follows:

S : Silence

A: Affirmations

V: Visualization

E: Exercise

R: Reading

S: Scribe (Writing/Journaling)

So I read about this on Boho Berry’s blog and loved the concept, though I wasn’t sure I liked some of the affirmation/visualization stuff. Plus I wanted to incorporate my Bible reading and time with God in there.

So I borrowed the title and created my own system that has four different quadrants revolving around my input > output mentality:

The four quadrants: spiritual input, spiritual output, creative input, creative output.

Some examples of what might go in each box/quadrant:

Spiritual Input: Read Scripture, Memorize + Meditate on Scripture, Read theology books

Spiritual Output: Respond to Scripture reading with application and prayer, share an encouraging word to a friend through a text, email or letter

Creative Input: Read books and publications, take a walk, research online, read artist blogs, study some German, play piano, listen to music or a podcast

Creative Output: Morning pages, draw/sketch, mind map, brain dump, share a thought online

This sounds like a lot of stuff to fit into one morning routine and obviously I don’t do every possible thing in each box every day. I’d have to be doing it all day long to fit all of it in. As fun as that would be, I am supposed to be working during the day. But the main idea is to hit each of the four boxes to have a nice complete start to each morning. And since I have lots of options, it’s almost impossible for it to not be interesting each time.

I have four different levels of time I spend to ensure that even the mornings where time is very limited, I still do something. The levels are based on how much time I have in the morning, just in case I’ve slept in or something unexpected happens that cuts into my time. I have a five minute, 15 minute, 30 minute and 60 minute version of this routine. I try to get at least two 60 minute miracle mornings in every week. And the other days, I just fit in what I can with the time I’m given. I think that’s really all we can do.

This sounds really complicated, but I use this spread in my bullet journal to help keep me straight when I need to.

FullSizeRender 28.jpg

I wanted to share this routine because it helps me so much to start the day off with my priorities straight and to already be creatively stirred.

Like Peter de Vries said:

 “I write when I’m inspired and I see to it that I’m inspired at nine o’clock every morning.” 

Developing a routine creates a habit of getting inspired when we need to be. I fight for that every day.

I hope this gives you some fun ideas to try for yourself! I love reading about routines and am constantly inspired by how other people start their day so please share with me too.

Thanks for reading! Subscribe if you want regular updates on art and my inspiration process.

Tschüss!

 

3 thoughts on “My Miracle Morning Routine

  1. I really like your method of getting inspired. And I must share with you that reading the scriptures and meditate on it is something that get me inspired too and start to feel the need to share it. Now I have this idea to share it through the art of painting and you are a grate inspiration for me.

    Thanks for sharing and being this open 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi there! I’m so happy you were inspired to try something with your art. 🙂 Are you on Instagram? Keep in touch so I know how it’s going!

      Like

Leave a Reply

