Project Updates | 29 July 2016

Research Project copyI wanted to write a little update so all you people that follow me on Instagram know what’s happening tomorrow as I post every hour for twelve hours again…but I’m getting ahead of myself.

First thing, I have completed my first 100 day project!! See all my posts on Instagram with #100daysoffloralsproject. It was fun and intense and I’m so happy I did it.

Look at all the pretty art I got out of it! (This is a very small selection.)

IMG_4774

I’m really interested to see what percentage of what I did I actually like. Now that I’m done, I’m going to do a little bit of reflection on how it went and how I think it’s affected my art practice. I’ll do a full recap post on that later though.

But really what I wanted to share today is a new 12 hour project that I’ll be challenging myself with tomorrow, the 30th. To see the other 12 hour project I did, click here. This time it will be 12 hours of research instead of 12 hours of art. I’m still not quite sure what’s going to happen. I’ll be reading and writing for 12 hours, hopefully with some new ideas for things to art with but also to write about and ponder on. The idea is to just start reading something and let an interesting concept I pick up carry me to the next thing to look up or read about until I hit a dead end and need to start over.

I already have an intense love for learning and writing and I just thought it would be fun to spend a more focused time doing it. As it relates to my art, I’m always looking for interesting ideas to combine together and try out in an illustration. Because of my florals project, I haven’t gotten a ton of time to invest in that. But now I do!

Here are my initial brainstorm ideas for the project:

  • stream of consciousness writing (3 times for 30 mins each)
  • read my Believer magazines
  • writing prompts
  • list-making
  • Vogue magazines
  • brainpickings.org (If you’ve never heard of this website, PLEASE check it out)
  • compile list of art to make
  • notes on all activities
  • post a handwritten quote every hour as my “update” post
  • fill up a notebook with color-coded pens

I did buy myself a cheap notebook to dedicate to this project so I would feel like it was set apart from the millions of other books I work out of. I’m going to try the color coding my notes but if it hinders me or ends up being annoying, I’ll probably drop it.

Anyways, that’s about all I wanted to say. If you’re interested, follow along tomorrow on Instagram to see what I end up posting. I’ll be holding the project from 9am-9pm EST.

Oh! And bonus! My husband is going to do his own 12 hour project alongside me working on his drawings and stories for his website The Dusty Butler. Follow him on Instagram @thedustybutler to see all that madness.

You guys are great! Tschüss!

One thought on “Project Updates | 29 July 2016

Leave a Reply

