Earth laughs in flowers

FullSizeRender 107I haven’t talked much about my art journaling yet on here so I thought I’d share a little bit about this spread I finished last week. If you follow me on Instagram, you already saw the individual pages I posted as part of my #100daysoffloralsproject.

My process with art journaling has been pretty much the same for every spread. I start with acrylic paint as a background, sometimes directly squeezed out on the page and spread around with my fingers. For this particular spread, I used a large paintbrush for the dark gray background.

I use a lot of magazine images from my million Vogues I have laying around. For this spread I really wanted one central figure, both girls here, with flowers kind of sprouting from the foreground. It’s hard to predict what the final image will look like because I just have to use what I find. I don’t do a ton of drawing and stuff here–the focus is using what I can find and collaging.

After painting my background, I cut out the girls and flowers while it dried. Then I glued everything down with Mod Podge and a gluestick. I made the left spread first, the girl is on a motorcyle and I liked the lighting of the photo a lot. It pops nicely on my dark background. Then I just started layering my flower images on top of her. Then I flipped the journal and did the same on the other side. I’m not sure what prompted me to flip the book and make the opposite spread upside down but I like the symmetry of it.

Once the images were dry, I added a few splotches of dark paint over top of the flowers to give them a little depth and took my Dr. Martin’s Bleedproof White paint to do some writing and doodling on the dark background.

The quote on the left spread is one of my favorites. It says:

“Don’t think about making art. Just get it done. Let everyone else decide if it’s good or bad, whether they love it or hate it. While they are deciding, make even more art.” – Andy Warhol

The right spread just has a short quote by Emerson:

“Earth laughs in flowers.”

And that’s it! I save quotes I like on Pinterest and in my journals so I always have stuff to pull from and the rest of the art journaling process is just intuition and what happens in the moment. I approached this spread with a seed of an idea but how it actually bloomed didn’t really seem up to me.

FullSizeRender 105

Thanks for reading! Go get yourself a book and start making a mess yourself!

If you like my blog, you can follow me on Bloglovin’ too!

Tschüss!

Leave a Reply

